Jeremy Glick Award Committee (last updated 17 Dec 2020)


John Woods

The Jeremy Glick Memorial Spirit of Judo Award is named in honor of Jeremy Glick who tragically gave his life in the plane crash on 9/11. Many people were in awe of Jeremy Glick’s calm composure and chivalrous demeanor before his final moments of life. Especially impressive was his last conversation with his wife and how considerate of her he was.

This award is based on the spirit of Judo: courage, compassion and character. The recipients are honored for their many years of leadership, development of people, development of Judo, and courageous dedication in insuring the continued success of Judo and the USJF.

Recipients of the Jeremy Glick Memorial Spirit of Judo Award

Mr. Nagayasu Ogasawara, May 2002

Ms. Keiko Fukuda, October 2003

Mr. Robert Brink, May 2004

Mr. Jim S. Onchi, July 2005

Mr. Noboru Saito, July 2006

Phyllis and Vaughn Imada, July 2007

Mrs. Rusty Kanokogi, July 2008

Mr. John Anderson, July 2009

Dr. Joseph J. Fitzsimmons, July 2010

Mr. Yoshisada Yonezuka, July 2011

Mr. Richard Muller,Esq., July 2012

Mr. James H. Takemori, July 2013

Mr. George Y. Tsubota, July 2014

Ms. Eiko Shepherd, July 2015

Jerry Hays, July 2016

Albert Aoki, July 2017

Jim Murray, July 2018

Janet Johnson, July 2019