Select Page

On behalf of the Committee, thank you to all of the USJF Athlete-Scholar of the Year Award for 2014 Academic applicants! We encourage all eligible students to continue your academic and judo studies and to apply again next year.

The committee received 10 applications from outstanding USJF qualified members and after extensive deliberation the following three applicants were selected as the 2015 scholarship recipients

  1. 1. Chase Oishi, Tarsh Judo Club, Nanka Yudanshakai
  2. 2. Benjamin R. Hinatsu, Western Idaho Judo Institute, Daiheigen Yudanshakai
  3. 3. Andrew Kageyama, Sacramento Judo Club, Hokka Yudanshakai

The official recognition and award ceremony will be at the Junior Nationals at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, Indiana on July 10-12, 2015.

Athlete scholar of the year (ASOY) committee met at the USJF National meeting held April 29, 2015 at Irving Convention Center in Irving, Texas.

Chairman Jeff Takeda appointed 2 new members: Sensei Eiko Shepherd – Chicago Yudanshakai and Low Dong – Nanka Yudanshakai to the committee. Present were Eiko Shepherd – Chicago, Low Dong – Nanka, Bryan Matsuoka, Daiheigen, and Jeff Takeda – Hokka. Votes were submitted prior to the meeting by the following members: Margaret Catt – Daiheigen, Jim Takemori – Shufu, and Kuniko Takeuchi – Daiheigen