

United States Judo Federation Tamo Kitaura Referee Development Grant

July 2, 2011

The USJF Tamo Kitaura Referee Development Grant Committee is very proud in selecting Ms Melinda Buehman, Mr. Neil Simon and Mr. Ralph Palmer as recipients of this grant. They join the prestigious company of the previous recipients of this award.

Tamo Kitaura Sensei has devoted over 50 years to the sport of Judo as a competitor, instructor, coach, manager and referee. Throughout his distinguished career, Kitaura Sensei has been instrumental in developing and mentoring students and has been an active contributor to numerous organizations which support such activities, including the Central Coast Judo Association and the United States Judo Federation. In honor of Kitaura Sensei's lifelong dedication to and distinguished service in support of Judo throughout the United States, the Central Coast Judo Association and the United States Judo Federation has established the USJF Tamo Kitaura Referee Grant.

The Grant has been established to provide financial assistance in support of the development and growth of USJF referees. The Grant is specifically aimed at USJF referees who have exhibited a degree of technical proficiency, and have been identified as candidates for further testing and certification through the CPJ-C. The proceeds from the Grant go towards defraying the costs of travel and other expenses associated with a referee's attendance at the CPJ-C testing site. This Grant has also been established as a tool to encourage, support and increase new referee participation.

Congratulations to Mr. Palmer and Mr. Simon on the excellent job at the CPJ North American Confederation Area Referee test site held at the Senior Nationals in Miami, Florida and to Ms Buehman at the test site held in Guadalajara. We wish them continued success in their refereeing career.

Sincerely,

Vaughn T Imada

Vaughn T Imada Vice President, United States Judo Federation

cc: Neil Simon, Joon Chi

Committee Members: Robert Fukuda, Keith Hayashi, Dan Kikuchi, Cal Kitaura, Rose Knudsen

2010

Mr. Devin Cohen, Mr. Robert Gugino, Mr. David A. Williams and Mr. Alain Wilkinson

2008

Mr. Billy Martin, Mr. Karl Tamai, Ms Julia VanHelde, Mr. Walter VanHelde and Mr. James Webb

2007

Mr. Glenn Koyama and Ms Sharon Landstreet

2006 Mr. Dan Isreal, Ms Miki Takemori and Mr. Harold Yamada

> 2005 Mr. Nick Goodly and Ms Joan Miller

2004 Mr. Dean Markovics and Mr. Mark Yamanaka

> 2003 Mr. Don Flagg