Select Page
Current Status
Not Enrolled
Free with USJF Membership
Get Started


Nage-no-Kata “forms of throwing” is one of the two randori-no-kata, free practice forms of Kodokan Judo. It is intended as an illustration of the various concepts of nage-waza (throwing techniques) that exist in judo, and is used both as a training method and as a demonstration of understanding.

The nage-no-kata was developed by Jigoro Kano as a method of illustrating principles of throwing to allow students to more effectively apply them in randori. 

The kata is composed of 3 techniques each from the five classifications of throw in judo:

  • Te-waza (hand techniques)
  • Koshi-waza (hip techniques)
  • Ashi-waza (foot techniques)
  • Ma-sutemi-waza (rear sacrifice techniques)
  • Yoko-sutemi-waza (side sacrifice techniques)

Each of these 15 techniques are performed twice in the specified order, both right and left handed. The kata is generally performed in a strictly formalized manner with clearly defined Reigi sahō (rules of etiquette).

Learning Outcomes

At the conclusion of the course, you will be able to

  • Recognize and demonstrate the Aisatsu (Salutation)
  • Identify the five classifications of Judo throws
  • Distinguish and formulate the key elements in Te-waza (hand techniques), Koshi-waza (hip techniques), Ashi-waza (foot techniques), Ma-sutemi-waza (rear sacrifice techniques) and Yoko-sutemi-waza (side sacrifice techniques)

Course Content

Expand All
Introduction to Nage-no-Kata
1st Set: Te-waza (Hand Technique)
2nd SET: Koshi-waza (Hip Technique)
3rd Set: Ashi-waza (foot techniques)
4th Set: Ma-sutemi-waza (Rear Sacrifice Techniques)
5TH SET: Yoko-sutemi-waza (side sacrifice techniques)